Rest day at the Vuelta 2017

Well, the first rest day of the Vuelta is upon us, and richly deserved it is as well! After 9 hard stages a day of rest in Alicant province for the riders. If you are on holiday though, there are no such luxuries! A spot of sightseeing and then a rendevous at a hotel to met up with Toms Shijuns.

We headed in the direction of Callosa de Segura, which although being famous, was of little interest to us on this occasion. We then headed to Embalse de la Pedrera for a spot of lunch on the side of a reservoir, very impressive in this part of Spain as even with the heat it seemed full and no loss from evaporation! I await to be corrected! From here I messaged Toms to give an idea of our arrival time, Google said 45 min but when I started calculating the route that fell to 15. The mysteries of technology is what I put that down to!

20170828_153019

We got to the hotel and made ourselves known to reception and Toms arrived. He gave me a bottle and race number from the Vuelta, chatted for a few minutes and a photo opportunity.

received_1530900920281441

I thanked him again and we left, heading back to Alicant for an evening meal.

Leave a comment